Hello,

Some time ago my phone sent me notifications telling me that my phone's internal storage was running out. I don't have an SD card so at first I tried to fix the problem by deleting pictures, video's and apps. It didn't help too much so eventually a lot of the phone's basic functions got switched off and it's impossible to switch them back on even though the storage problem is fixed now. By basic functions I mean: push notifications, lock screen, home button and many more.

I would do a reset, but I am in China and I use express VPN on my phone. A reset would mean that I lose the express VPN app and won't be able to download it again, I'm afraid.

I noticed that there is a system update available, but I feel like that won't help me too much in this situation, will it?

As you can see from this message, I'm not too good with technology...
    Is there anyone who can help me with this problem?

Thanks in advance
    12-11-2016 11:19 AM
    Welcome to Android Central! It doesn't quite make sense that those basic functions would be switched off due to low storage space.

Show us a screenshot of the Settings>Storage menu: http://forums.androidcentral.com/gen...d-central.html

Also, try wiping the cache partition, which won't erase any personal data: https://motorola-global-en-aus.custh...p/30,6720,9392
    12-11-2016 06:36 PM
    Moto X Play Android 6.0.1 basic functions switched off due to exceeding of storage limit-storage-menu.jpg

Thank you for your answer. I followed your advice to wipe the cache partition, but sadly it didn't change anything about the problems I've been experiencing.

Do you think that doing the system update might help or should I fix this problem first?
    12-12-2016 11:14 AM
    You're currently on Do Not Disturb -- did you mean to turn that on? That could explain why you're not getting any notifications.