What do you NOT like about YOUR Moto X Pure Edition?

turbo93

Nov 21, 2015
Visit site
Re: What do you NOT like about the Moto X Pure Edition?

First post to this forum and welcome everyone. I bought a Motorola X Pure for my college daughter after her aging iPhone 5 had a liquid experience :). She kind of hates it being an Apple fangirl (Dad can I load apps on Android?) but she has warmed up to it. So I bought one for myself after my arthritic fingers and cataract eyes protested the 4" screen of my equally aging iPhone 5.

First two weeks - lots of getting used to it. The Migrate app does not work. Had to re-buy several apps (including a $8 backgammon app). I'm no stranger to Android or Lollipop as I am an embedded software developer and write code for car radios that deal with phones... Also have a Dell Venue 8 7000 Lollipop tablet.

What I don't like - size is an issue but even 5" is not much smaller. Micro USB is nowhere near Lightning. I wish USB Type C... Battery life is OK but with the insane charger not an issue. Pure Lollipop? Well, its too Pure for my taste so I have swapped out some apps for replacements. Texting is an issue, I tried every app and settled on Handcent only to run into MMS pic size issues. And phone gets warm - load GSam battery monitor to see how hot, maybe 105F to 110F if I charge and play Angry Birds at the same time. Stock media player is - for lack of a better word - unfriendly. Camera is good once you figure out what to do.

Build quality is very good, definitely flagship level. Display is extremely good, audio quality excellent with the right headphones, speed is a non issue (no slowdowns on, say, Angry Birds 2). Most issues I have are minor to trivial and are Lollipop specific.

Value wise it is exceptional. I'll be picking another for my younger kid as a graduation gift.

dmark44

Mar 2, 2012
Visit site