Thinking on installing the google experience launcher on my 4.4 Moto X. thoughts?

ddorbuck

Sep 27, 2013
Visit site
Hey all, I am somewhat new to the android world with my moto x being the first android I have used. I am intrigued by the google experience launcher and I'm pretty comfortable with the process on installing it. However once installed does it break the "ok google now" feature of the moto x and do active notification still work? And last question I assume just uninstalling it will restore the original moto x launcher?

Thank for any info. Doug

Rocketsaucev2

Feb 5, 2013
Visit site
The launcher will not respond, something is broken in the kit kat update for the moto x but the touchless control will still work.

If you go into settings and hit home you can freely switch between launchers without uninstalling

-Moto X-

ddorbuck

Sep 27, 2013
Visit site
thanks for the info. looks like I will hold off installing it for now. Maybe ill check out nova or apex launcher in the mean time. Cheers!

Winkzz

Sep 30, 2013
Visit site
I have the Google experience launcher on my moto x and it works flawlessly. I say try it out, if you don't like it you can always uninstall or switch home launchers. Works great on my by nexus 7 as well.

Posted via Android Central App

Kleeberg

Nov 1, 2013
Visit site
When I had it installed, it drained my battery like crazy after installing Kit Kat. Now that I did a clean install and got rid of the GEL, it's back to amazing battery life.

atakin77

Jan 26, 2011
Visit site
I've been using it for over a month, no issues with battery. Everything works fine. I came from Nova and have enjoyed GEL quite a bit - haven't switched back.

UncleMike

Nov 8, 2009
Visit site
I tried the GEL on my Moto X and it worked fine and didn't affect battery life, but I found the home screen icons to be cartoonishly large.

UncleMike

Nov 8, 2009
Visit site
I have it installed but want to take it off. How do I take it off?