'13 X Owners with Wood Back Cover (aka Woodies)

delrey1900

Mar 22, 2010
Visit site
While I have been debating on getting the new X (I love my OG X a lot), I have been contemplating on getting the wood back. I was thinking of getting the VZW stock white front with bamboo back. My main question is durability. How has it been holding up with normal wear and tear? Have you regretted getting it? Would you get it again? I'm afraid it may not hold up as well as a plastic back. Thanks!

Evilnut

Oct 9, 2012
Visit site
I have an ebony wood back. I have had mine since February of this year. I work outside for a living so I keep a case on mine during the week when I'm at work, but I take it off on the weekends. It still looks just as good as the day I got it!

Posted via a beautiful Ebony backed Moto X on Verizon or the amazing Nexus 10 using the Android Central App

Flexia

Nov 30, 2010
Visit site
I have the bamboo back and love it. Dont have any problems with it. Also still looks great. In the light glare you can see minor scratches bit thats all

Last edited:

anon(5002059)

Mar 3, 2014
Visit site
Love my wood back moto but I would have gone with leather if I had the choice.
But the wood holds up well. And I don't use a case.

Posted with my MotoX, no case needed.

KWKSLVR

Feb 12, 2011
Visit site
I've got walnut and it's been surprisingly durable. I do use the same stuff I use on the fretboard's of my guitars to keep it all glossed up.

Good stuff. Now, be aware that the wood backs are slick. Not as slick as the "smooth" plastic backs. But no where near as grippy as the soft touch back I had.

In my opinion, my wood back has held up better than my soft touch did. A cheap tpu case left black spots on my Navy back. Haven't had issues with wood.

Posted via Android Central App

Attachments

• IMG_20140618_205017525.jpg
    IMG_20140618_205017525.jpg
    23.4 KB · Views: 123
  • IMG_20140618_205022220.jpg
    IMG_20140618_205022220.jpg
    21.6 KB · Views: 123

Flexia