...i'm new to android after spending 2+ years with Blackberry and have a quick question about rooting my Droid 2...i downloaded and it said i was successful with rooting my D2 with the Z4 root but how do i know for sure that my phone is rooted and please be gentle cause like i stated earlier i'm new to the whole android OS. thanks in advance.
    12-22-2010 12:15 PM
    Get the application terminal emulator from the market, open it and type su. If you see it repeat it you have root and you get a # for the next promo you have root. You may want to try and download the superuser application and binary from the market
    enzie5454 and Kimo91 like this.
    12-22-2010 01:49 PM
    ^^^ That seems A LOT more complicated to someone new to Android then downloading a 'root only' app and just seeing if it works. I know it would have overwhelmed me when I first rooted. Plus, I don't think you have to download the superuser app, at least I didn't after rooting with z4root.

Try downloading an app like 'CacheCleaner Legacy', or any other app that needs root. Open the app. Allow it superuser access. Run the app. If it worked, you are rooted. If it didn't, you aren't.
    Kimo91 likes this.
    12-22-2010 11:32 PM
    Easy test, open your app drawer. If there is an icon for "Superuser" your good.
    Kimo91 likes this.
    12-22-2010 11:35 PM
    If searching for terminal emulator and typing su is very hard I'm sorry but when I started doing such task as using command prompt was needed. But if it makes it easier yes a root only app should work. And you can also have root access but of you haven't installed superuser API or binary its useless
    12-23-2010 12:11 AM