[ROOT] How to root the Droid 4

Phil Nickinson

Android Central Editor Emeritus
Apr 21, 2009
Visit site
droid-4-root.jpg

Windows only for now, but it's quick and painless.

1. Put your phone in USB debugging mode.
  2. Connect your Droid 4 to the computer via USB
  3. Make sure you have the latest drivers and what-not (get them here if you don't)
  4. Download Dan Rosenberg's exploit
  5. Extract to a folder, and double-click run.bat.

That's it. Easy as pie. And (cough) free.

Reactions: atminside

cmonson91

Feb 18, 2012
Visit site
I have tried to root my phone but it will not root. I followed all the directions and ran and administrator when i run it it says it failed to do every thing

k1ick

Feb 22, 2012
Visit site
All right im not a complete noob at this but i need some help: I would like to get the Mac version of this but for some reason when i download it from the website it does not include the adb.osx file which im assuming is the mac version of adb.exe and when i execute "./run.sh" it goes crazy trying to find the file. Im not sure why it is not included or if i have to some how convert the adb.exe file to .osx which im pretty sure is impossible.
Thanks.

motorcycle_monkey

Feb 27, 2012
Visit site
How about unrooting if you need to return your phone? I would love to try this, but want to be sure it is reversible. I suppose a master reset would do it, no? Cheers

gaudenti

Mar 13, 2012
Visit site
I have the same question. From what I've read, you do a Nandroid backup?

But to do a Nandroid backup, you have to first root the phone? So won't the backup be also rooted?

cdbeiser

May 23, 2012
Visit site
I'm new to the whole smart phone droid world... What does root do? why should I root the phone and will it help me with mobile hotspot?
TIA
chris

4jws

Jun 16, 2012
Visit site
I have tried a bunch of different ways to root my droid 4 on my mac but still get the "No such file or directory" Are there any other ways to root it? Can I root it any other way?