Just Bought the Droid - Help with Root and 2.2

luke31

Mar 16, 2010
Visit site
Hello everyone! I just purchased the Moto Droid yesterday, after finally deciding to pay the early termination fee for AT&T and ridding myself of the plague that was the Backflip once and for all. Ok, maybe a bit too dramatic, but that phone is bad. Anyway, one of the main reasons I bought the Droid was to root it (something the backflip couldn't do). I have googled everywhere, but cannot find a unified response to this question: Does anyone have a safe, fool-proof method of Rooting the 2.1 Droid and then installing the 2.2 Froyo port? This is my first brush with the rooting experience, so I apologize for sounding like a complete newb. Well, everyone has to start somewhere, right? Thanks in advance, and I look forward to growing as a Droid user! (PS: AT&T vs Verizon is like night and day!)

Last edited:

watersrules

Apr 10, 2010
Visit site
This is the link I started with:

Quick Tip: Long Press in Flash for Full Screen Videos - Droid Life: A Droid Community Blog

Keep in mind, this is just a link about flash, but under the snazzy little picture are 3 hyperlinks which lead you through a) rooting b) a Froyo ROM and c) Flash 10.1

I am an idiot with this stuff, but am learning every day. That was what I used in first rooting and messing around with my Droid. Everyone's will respond a little differently, but mine worked like a charm following the directions very specifically.

Hope this helps!

luke31

Mar 16, 2010
Visit site
Thanks! Sounds easy enough to do. Is it also true that, if you find the need to restore to the original firmware, you could do so by simply flashing the official 2.1 ROM for the droid?

Dapke36

Jan 4, 2010
Visit site