Droid and a hard place...

carver_inc

Jun 26, 2010
Visit site
I was really looking forward to getting the Droid X. After reading yesterday that its bootloader is locked and using custom ROMS is out, I'm beginning to question my choice.

The Galaxy S, is already rooted and would offer more freedom. My problem is, with the Droid X being locked, how much will that take away from what the phone will ultimately be capable of, as compared to the Galaxy S? Both seem like great phones.

Is this a deal breaker with anyone else out there? or Do you have confidence the X will eventually be rooted?

I need some advice

C/\rver

MolecularGraph

Jun 25, 2010
Visit site
Won't take away anything really, you can still root it, just can't do hybrid roms and stuff for speed... which you really don't need with this bad boy!

GTvert90

Jun 26, 2010
Visit site
I have no experience with it at all.. But from all the ready.. Its very very likely that the X will be rooted.... Its very very unlikely that you can use custom ROM's because of the bootloader. I guess they've been trying to crack the milstone for 7+ months and haven't done it yet.

Laity they've been saying if you try to hack the bootloader it bricks your phone :eek:

SCMoney360

May 19, 2010
Visit site
I don't understand everybody crying about this. I'm not claiming the OP is, but com'on!

1. I understand that being able to flash roms can become an unhealthy habit - BUT - it looks like people are flashing their droids/evos to make them faster by overclocking/breaking the bottleneck.

If moto bottlenecked graphics at 30 fps, i could see that being a "dealbreaker". Droid X owners are going to be getting the "greatest android device until next week". Tests are showing that with 2.1, its a powerhouse. Why do I need to tweak a phone with a 1 ghz processor?