To Keep you Droid X Running Fast and Smooth

doctorlove316

Retired Moderator
Jun 23, 2010
Visit site
Ok, I've rooted, used autostarts to disable some unused stuff at startup, and used root explorer to rename a few bloatware files. My question is, when froyo (or any moto/verizon update) is released, what will I have to change back, if anything, to get the update. Please be specific, as I'm fairly new to the droid world.

If that's all you've done, all you SHOULD have to do is rename the bloatware back to what it was and you SHOULD be good to go.

I emphasize SHOULD because obviously FroYo hasn't been released yet so we don't know for sure but you should be fine.

heathro1281

Jul 12, 2010
Visit site
Ok, so did this and now 3 days into it, my only gripe is loss of multi-touch zoom control on the browser...

Anyone else confirm or no where to turn it back on?

doctorlove316

Retired Moderator
Jun 23, 2010
Visit site
Ok, so did this and now 3 days into it, my only gripe is loss of multi-touch zoom control on the browser...

Anyone else confirm or no where to turn it back on?

Well that depends on what you actually did. I am NOT using a task killer, I am NOT deleting applications, I AM using autostarts, I AM using autokiller and I can still pinch to zoom.

What exactly did you do?

duffyanneal

Jun 5, 2010
Visit site
I haven't lost any functionality. I would go back and make sure you didn't accidentally kill a process in Autostarts. If nothing else you can reactivate everything and see if that fixes the problem.

heathro1281

Jul 12, 2010
Visit site
Well that depends on what you actually did. I am NOT using a task killer, I am NOT deleting applications, I AM using autostarts, I AM using autokiller and I can still pinch to zoom.

What exactly did you do?

I wasnt agressive, I didnt think. I am using ATK. I did everything the article said, but since there is so much leway, I might have killed something.

Going back through...

Mudvayne622

Jun 27, 2010
Visit site