Droid X arrives 9/2!! Help

DBLX

Aug 31, 2010
Visit site
Hello. I'm brand new to Android. I'm giving up my BB Tour for the Droid X. I ordered the X today and should have it tomorrow. I need to draw on all your expertise please.
What should I install first? What should I do first? How do I get all my contacts over to the X? When I was in the store they told me I should wait and buy from them because I'll end up bringing it in for them to set it up. Otherwise I'll have to pay them 35 to do it. LOL. I do use the Verizon backup but will that work cross platform?
After looking and playing with the various Android devices, it feels like I'm stepping out of the darkness and into the light!

TIA,
MJ

DroidRage79

Jul 1, 2010
Visit site
Best advice I can offer is to definitely make use of the forum search function. I'd bet that 90% of your topics will have been previously covered and answered/resolved.

jasoncardenas21

May 17, 2010
Visit site
Best advice I can give you is to set up a gmail account now, put google sync on your blackberry and sync all of your contacts from your blackberry to your gmail. Then, you will have all of that stuff, plus it will be easier for you to set up initially.

Other piece of advice. Don't take tons of advice from everyone. Develop your own rapport with your phone and learn how to love it the way that you do, not why everyone else does.

Arelunde

TECHFAN
Jul 25, 2010
Visit site
First thing you will do is check the icons on the seven home screens and decide which ones (if any) you want to keep there - deleting the rest (press, hold, drag to trash at bottom of screen).

Organizing the home screen(-s) can become a career occupation - it's great fun to get different "looks" according to what you prefer and what you want to keep handy. Wallpapers extend over the seven screens, so each has a slightly different view.