How do I keep apps from launching....

wakebrdr94

Sep 2, 2010
Visit site
I kill skype numerous times throughout the day (along with many other apps) that I never even open. Even after I kill them, they end up running in the background again. Is there a way to prevent this? I'm new to the android market (after leaving RIM) and I am trying to get the most out of my battery.

any help would be great

Dave:confused:

Adiliyo

Oct 17, 2009
Visit site
just leave it alone, as long as you are signed out of skype the amount of battery it uses is pointless to worry about.

if you want to maximize your battery life (without rooting and hackery) control the amount of time you have the screen on and the brightness, the screen uses more battery than anything else. then uninstall your task killer and stop worrying about what apps are running.

anon(19758)

Apr 30, 2010
Visit site
just leave it alone, as long as you are signed out of skype the amount of battery it uses is pointless to worry about.

if you want to maximize your battery life (without rooting and hackery) control the amount of time you have the screen on and the brightness, the screen uses more battery than anything else. then uninstall your task killer and stop worrying about what apps are running.

+1
I went crazy the first week or so with my DX, coming from a long line of Blackberry 8330s and 9630s. Then I thought, "screw it" and ditched the task killers. And my battery life got better. Android does a fantastic job of managing memory. If it needs to close an app you haven't used in a while, it will. This ain't no blackberry, my friend.

TallyHo

Junkie
Jun 14, 2010
Visit site
you can alos downlod Startup Manager. Great program allows you to remove programs from your startup that Verizon and Moto have on there. I know i removed about 5 apps and a few processes so they never actually open when I boot up.