Limit/Tweak Droid X Contact Syncing

dizzygoldfish#AC

Dec 20, 2010
Visit site
Hi,

I'm new to Android in general - I've been a BB addict for many years. If this is a dumb question please go easy! I poked around for an answer but the solutions I've found don't seem to work on the X.

My phone currently syncs with Google, Exchange, and Facebook for contacts. I'm perfectly happy with that. However, it seems to be pulling a list of all email addresses I've ever used - not necessarily from my actual saved contacts. For example, one of the first entries is to a law firm my company did business with several years ago who I've emailed once.

There are tons of these. How do I get these to stop syncing? It seems to be from all of my accounts. Is there somewhere I can go to tweak what stuff gets sync'd?

This seems like a really easy thing to fix but I can't for the life of me figure it out.

Help!

Dizzy

Arelunde

TECHFAN
Jul 25, 2010
Visit site
From what I've read in the forums previously, this is connected with Facebook. Someone will post specifically how to stop this - has to do with unchecking contact sync on Facebook.

There have been others who discover an avalanche of (unwanted) contacts, thanks to Facebook.

dizzygoldfish#AC

Dec 20, 2010
Visit site
OK. Hopefully someone will. I'll search for it now. Went into the app settings on facebook for Droid and it won't let me stop the contact sync there. Also nothing in the FB app or Contacts app.

Most of the unwanted contacts are just email addresses that have nothing to do with facebook. for example, the first bunch of entries are random email addresses for folks I've emailed before i.e. 'user@email.com'. It's like it's pulling from Outlooks .nk2/autocomplete file...

Chris Kerrigan

Nov 16, 2009
Visit site
If you want to change what syncs from Facebook and other accounts, go to Settings > Accounts & Sync