Bloat ware

shanedroid1

Jan 11, 2011
Visit site
hey guys so im new to my dx and im debating rooting it im looking into the liberty rom, but im too scared to do that right now. is it definitely worth it?

also until i am brave enough to venture into the rom world. what verizon bloatware is safe to remove thanks guys

wormeyman

Nov 3, 2010
Visit site
I would say that it is worth it, just remember that you are voiding your warranty. Their are lots of ways to recover from a bad flash. Just make sire you have a full battery and do a backup.

Last edited:

Rusty Shackelford

Oct 20, 2009
Visit site
My recommendation would be not to remove the bloatware, but to freeze it using titanium backup or similar once you are rooted. That way you dont destroy your upgrade path. Also be sure to back up EVERYTHING before you start tinkering with flashing roms.

Most importantly, read, re-read, re-re-read and than read again before you touch the custom roms. You will save yourself heaps of potential frustration and heartache when all is said and done.

Good luck.

El Jefe

Oct 15, 2010
Visit site
My recommendation would be not to remove the bloatware, but to freeze it using titanium backup or similar once you are rooted. That way you dont destroy your upgrade path. Also be sure to back up EVERYTHING before you start tinkering with flashing roms.

Most importantly, read, re-read, re-re-read and than read again before you touch the custom roms. You will save yourself heaps of potential frustration and heartache when all is said and done.

Good luck.

I agree 100%.

Question to the OP: Why remove the bloatware? I know it is frustrating to see on there & I don't like seeing the carriers put stuff we don't want on there anymore than you do, but the Droid X has 8GB of storage available for apps, so it isn't like you are going to run out of space if you leave it on. There is also plenty of RAM to handle anything you want to do even with the bloatware on there.