PLEASE HELP Rooted DX Do I Now Have A Trojan or Virus??

bioshock

Mar 2, 2011
Visit site
I am new to all this so I apologize.. I saw an ad in CL a guy advertising he was an "Android Expert" and could root any device.. I wanted the mobile hotspot and was nervous about doing it myself so I took it to his store and 20 bucks later my DX is rooted.. He also installed an alternate app store that offered free apps, I tried it but deleted the two games I tried and the program itself.. Since then I have read about trojans and viruses so just to be on the safe side I tried three different antivirus scanners and everything came back clean.. I have no idea what program he used to root the device, I have since read Z4root is the one to use but I don't see it installed anywhere on my device If that was the program he used?? Since I had the phone rooted I have noticed the little round sync arrows appearing a lot more than they used to in my notification bar and I have no idea what is syncing?? When I pull it down they seem to go away but reappear when I push it back up.. Am I just being paranoid now or should I be worried?? Any suggestions PLEASE

.46caliber

Jun 16, 2010
Visit site
What is the alternate app store? If it is AppBrain, no worries. If it's something else, that may be a problem.

The Android viruses that have been discovered have been embedded with pirated apps and games.

In the future, it would probably be best to not let anyone you don't personally know and trust work on your phone.

Make sure you don't have those 3 different anti-virus installed at the same time. They can cause problems with each other.

Those round arrows are the phone syncing with your Google account. Rooting a device shouldn't cause them to appear any more often, but while he was working on your phone, who knows what else he may have done.

greydarrah

May 5, 2010
Visit site