Picked up a Droid on Friday and have been playing with it all weekend. In Upstate New York, Verizon has the best coverage of all the providers hands down...unfortunately just not in my house.

I can only get 1 bar max in my house no matter where I go. A lot of time it's no bars. On my iPhone 3GS which I was hoping to replace, I get 5 bars no matter where I am in my house.

This morning I did a test and kept calling the Droid when it had no bars. The call made it through but what's very interesting is that the very split second the call comes on, my reception displays as 2 bars. As soon as I end the call, it immediately goes back to no bars. I did this 5 times in a row with the exact same symptoms. I did a *228 and updated the towers with option 2, but still, the issue remains.

So I don't know what the deal is but I'm pretty bummed out about it. I like this phone but I'm really nervous that I'll miss calls or text messages from work when a server goes down (I'm a sys admin.)

Is anybody having a similar problem?

Update: I have been able to replicate the issue with the changing bars, but in reverse now. Just did this 7 times in a row. I'm in an area with 4 bars, as soon as I place a call to the phone, the phone app displays the ring and it DROPS to two bars. As soon as the call ends, it goes back to 4 bars. No matter what, it seems the phone app is displaying 2 bars when a call first comes in. Is anybody else seeing this issue?
    11-09-2009 10:35 AM
    I show 1 bar also at home but get all my calls and messages.
    11-09-2009 10:40 AM
    I'd be interested to know if the # of bars you have immediately increase when you get a call and drop back down afterwords.
    11-09-2009 10:46 AM
    I have all 4 bars at home in Mid Michigan just move here and the problem solved lol.
    11-09-2009 10:56 AM