Droid X Rooting for Noob: Help Please

bmight

Oct 19, 2010
Visit site
Hello everyone,

So I have looked into rooting and I would really like to root my DX. I am a total noob in the rooting world so please be very direct in your response if you can. so I will admit I am a bit nervous about doing rooting it and I have a few questions before I do it.

1) Everyone says it will void your warranty. What exact warranties are we voiding? I have a damage protection on it and I really do not want to void that.

2) Un-rooting. If I use the one click rooting method can I un-root it easily if rooting is not for me?

3) Is there any extra tips that will help me while actually rooting it or once it is rooted to watch out for so I don't break anything?

Thats all the questions I can think of at the moment. Any answers are greatly appreciated.

Thank you!

terpitude71

Retired Moderator
Dec 9, 2009
Visit site
1. "rooting voids your warranty" basically means that if you somehow brick your phone by doing something that you were able to do because you were rooted, then verizon will tell you youre SOL. as far as the damage protection goes, youll still be covered (though i recommend un-rooting before taking the phone in just in case if you ever need a replacement).

2. most 1 click root methods i have seen also have an unroot method as well.

3. the main tip i can give you as someone that was also nervous about the process once upon a time is understand what you are putting on your phone and how to fix it if you mess something up. if you just want to root for the sake of using some root apps like wireless tether, then youll be fine. if you want to start flashing roms and theming, do your homework, ask questions, and follow instructions to the letter. make backups, download the sbf file on to your computer, CYA basically. we have an awesome community on these forums with a lot of experience with this stuff, so any issue you run into, you can usually find help with

Reactions: bmight