I haven't seen much discussion about Ice Cream Sandwhich arriving on the original Xoom (there are rumours that the Xoom 2 will get it).

Is there any info to suggest that existing phones and tablets (including the Xoom) will be getting Ice Cream Sandwhich?
    08-09-2011 11:49 AM
    Am I missing something? I'm still fairly new to Android, but I was under the impression ice cream sandwich was a phone os and Honeycomb was the tablet OS. So shouldn't we be waiting for an OS update? Golden Grahams or something...
    08-09-2011 12:34 PM
    Honeycomb was made just for tabs and well I guess Google TV. Ice cream is a cross of honeycomb and froyo I believe that will be just for phones. The Xoom will see many full os updates. Even if Google does stop at some point with the unlocked bootloader we will have many more updates.

sent by CyanogenMod X
    08-09-2011 01:26 PM
    No one knows for sure but the Xoom is probably the most likely first generation Honeycomb tablet to get upgraded to Ice Cream Sandwich.

As for other phones and tablets its anyone's guess. It's up to the manufacturer and we all know how long one can wait until an upgrade comes through if you get one at all. My advice is that if you don't like the OS the hardware is running currently that don't buy it based on a promise or an assumption. As we know from the Xoom, manufactures often make ridiculous promises that they can't keep later.
    08-09-2011 02:22 PM
    Yes xoom will get ics and it will be the first. Most likely the wifi version
    08-09-2011 02:24 PM
    I am fairly sure that ICS will be for both phones and tablets.
    08-09-2011 02:44 PM
    Forget that. We should be getting Jelly Bean!!
    08-09-2011 03:29 PM
    Jelly bean is next spring at google io
    08-09-2011 03:36 PM