My Third Day Xoom Review

INFURNO

Feb 27, 2011
Visit site
I don't suppose my views will be popular here but I feel like I need some closure.

My occupation is very computer oriented. My first experience with Android was the Mooto Droid 1, now I carry a Droid 2. I use these for nearly everything, but it does have limitations. I also own a netbook, a Sager 7280 laptop, and my desktop workstation.

I thought tablets were a joke from the first time Apple mentioned the iPad. Never could understand what they are for or why anybody would want a crippled gigantic cellphone. Regardless, they have become one of the hottest tech items out there and I had to find out why. I really don't think I need one, but my curiosity would not let me rest so when the Xoom hit the shelves I bagged it for $800.

30 minutes later I walked into Borders with my bran new shiny Xoom in hand and got in line at the Cafe a cup of coffee. Feels awkward to stand there in line with this big metal/glass thing in one hand while trying to reach for a card out of the wallet.

Sat down and got online with the tablet for the first time. Past the first prompts and I'm at the desktop. The very first thing I notice is how heavy this thing is. The surface is slippery and there is not a lot of room to really have a good grip. I find that using a tablet is much like using a laptop as you hold it up in both hands. We have all tried that. Unless your holding it up, it's not very comfortable to use as it lays on the tabletop. A kickstand may go a long way here, or some sort of dock but I think going as far as carrying accessories kind of defeats the point of a tablet.