How to disable auto update on apps (android newbie)

sam59

Jan 8, 2013
Visit site
Believe this may improve battery life ? I can't work out how to do it though. Once done, will an app remind me that it has an update available that I can manually choose to update?
I'm an android and smartphone newbie. Only used to iOS updates on iPad. Despite problems with the phone, I'm loving it as an iTunes- free, open source device.
Thanks

ConTejas

Nov 9, 2011
Visit site
open the play store, hit menu (3 dots in upper right), settings, uncheck auto-update apps. Keep notifications checked to receive notifications to manually update. I've found sometimes they aren't sent though, so if you hit menu, my apps, it will show all of your apps and any that can be updated at the very top.

sam59

Jan 8, 2013
Visit site
Many thanks. I'm hoping that auto update was behind the sudden overheating and battery drain when phone was in sleep mode, lying unused on my desk. That's been happening every few days. Some days are ok, so that's why I thought it was a 'background' setting.

edwinmiller

Oct 3, 2012
Visit site
First of all we Android users welcome you to the world of Android. I am not sure about the improvement in battery life of Android device. The official application store of Android is well-known by Google Play Store while for iPhone it is iTunes. It is quite easy to disable the auto updates in Android. For this you need to open Play Store from your Android device and go to option; there you will find an option ?Auto-update apps? and you just need to disable that option. Hope this will work and you will get better solutions from it.

Latisa Bush

Apr 23, 2013
Visit site
I am having trouble with automatic updating I do not wish to update anything on my phone. I do not have much storage space and these updates get in my way of using my phone. How do I stop these updates of which features I do not use ever

Valery Tozer

Jan 27, 2013
Visit site