Hi guys I'm new to Android after years of iPhone use(foolish I know). I have had my Nexus 4 for a few days and I adore the phone and im sold and will never be going back to apple. The only issue I have is with this handset is the speaker volume for notifications and YouTube videos. I keep missing calls and unless I am sat alone in complete silence I can't hear the sound when playing YouTube videos. Is the best way to remedy this rooting? And if so where is the best place to go for instructions, as a rookie I don't want to damage my phone so I appreciate its going to take plenty of research to do it safely. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

By the way I am running JB 4.2.2
    04-10-2013 05:57 PM
    No need to root for that. If you go into settings>sound>volumes, is your ringtone & notifications volume turned all the way up? I have no problem hearing mine when I have music on...it stops my music and plays the notification. Maybe you could also select a more annoying sounding notification tone so you'll notice it easier.
    04-10-2013 11:19 PM
    Yes mate tried all that and every app via Google play that has been suggested online.

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Android Central Forums
    04-11-2013 06:02 AM
    My ringer volume is quite loud when turned up. I have noticed the headset volume doesn't go as loud as I would like, but I can definitely hear it.

You problem is both headphones and speaker? or just the speaker? Any chance it could be defective hardware?
    04-11-2013 10:12 AM
    Sounds like a defective speaker or something. My Nexus 4 rings very loud if I have it turned all the way up. Normally I turn it down a couple of notches so that it doesn't startle me when it does ring. The music and youtube volumes do seem a bit quieter than my iPhone 4s used to be though. Some of it is maybe due to the rear facing speaker though as well. I'd contact google and I am certain they will help you out and probably send you a new unit.