Good stable ROM with support for LTE?

Goodeye

Dec 4, 2010
Visit site
I have been searching for the life of me for a good stable ROM for the nexus 4 with support for LTE (I live in the Phoenix market and can get the specific band that the nexus lte chip works on)

I was even trying to do the stock option where you upload an old baseband but the instructions I found were not that easy to follow to say the least.

I have rooted and installed roms before (Samsung captivate, gs3, nexus 7) I'm no newbie.

Goodeye

Dec 4, 2010
Visit site
The nexus 4 does have an lte chip that only works on band 4. Coincidently enough AT&T in my market runs on band 4 for lte.

I'm having trouble finding any roms for the nexus 4 that seem stable. Cm10 only shows their nightlies.

digitalslacker

Jul 6, 2010
Visit site
I haven't seen any ROM boasting support for LTE for the Nexus 4.

1) the device technically doesn't support it and isn't approved to run it. It might be that no ROM wants to boast supporting a feature that goes against what the FCC has rated the phone for.
2) LTE isn't in that many markets yet so it might be that ROM devs just haven't felt the demand to support it.
3) I've used LTE in my area and while technically the chip does support LTE, it's been suggested that the phone lacks some of the supporting hardware to make it an optimal experience. My limited testing seems to back it up but who knows, could be that the market i'm in hasn't been completely rolled out yet.

As far as setting your phone up, it's as easy as flashing the old radio, setting the new APN and then manually toggling over to GSM/LTE. Keep in mind that the setting reverts on a reboot.

I gave up using it...wasn't worth the effort for what proved in my area to be only a marginal speed increase over HSPA+

anyway, my two cents.

Sent from my Transformer Prime TF201 using Tapatalk HD

ConTejas

Nov 9, 2011
Visit site