Im new to rooting and scared to try it but I've seen many videos on youtube about rooting and i have a few questions. My laptop is WIndows 8 so I heard theirs more steps to root when using W8 so should I just use my PC on W7? I never use the desktop though. Second I plan to use Wugfresh's Root toolkit which I think looks the easiest and third is I plan to install Franco Kernal because It gives good battery life and performance from what I understand? Also If I buy Franco Kernal on the App store I read I can install it that way? Also what specifically or ROMS? I've just been researching Kernals which to me is more important. Also I know everything gets deleted when unlocking your bootloader but what about everything on your Sim card? Thank You
    07-13-2013 08:19 PM
    What extra steps? I rooted on my W8 and Vista PCs.

Kernel is all your personal preference.

Don't know, just flash in recovery.

ROMs are essentially operating systems for Android and different ROMs contain different features. Personal preference, some of the popular ROMs are Cyanogenmod, AOKP, and Paranoid Android. I use deTmobilized myself. Make sure you download the correct ROM for your phone make and model!! You risk bricking your device if you don't!

Your SIM card isn't touched.
    07-13-2013 08:53 PM
    What extra steps? I rooted on my W8 and Vista PCs.

Kernel is all your personal preference.

Don't know, just flash in recovery.

ROMs are essentially operating systems for Android and different ROMs contain different features. Personal preference, some of the popular ROMs are Cyanogenmod, AOKP, and Paranoid Android. I use deTmobilized myself. Make sure you download the correct ROM for your phone make and model!! You risk bricking your device if you don't!

Your SIM card isn't touched.
    With W8 you need to enable 'test mode' in the settings. also i tried to download franco kernal and theirs like a bunch of zip files and settings that i dont know what to download.
    07-13-2013 09:20 PM