Rooted Nexus 4 w/ Wugfresh. Had a problem. Do I now need to Factory reset then re-root?

mset

Mar 12, 2013
Visit site
I rooted my phone for the first time yesterday using Wugfresh (amazing tool for noobs like me). I got the root done and it solved a problem I was having with Gmail, which I posted about here

I installed Cyangenmod 11, mainly because I could do it using their automated installer. Then I installed the Franco Kernel (using paid installer).

It turns out that Superuser is blocking the Franco Kernel and I can't figure out how to get it to allow. Details are in a thread I started here .

Bottom line is that someone informed me the Franco Kernel doesn't play nice with Cyanogen. In fact I am now not even sure I had to install CM to use the Franco kernel! I am really a noob at this stuff. I wanted Franco because I wanted control over the audio outputs, both headphone and speaker, Right now the phone works, but the screen is flashing at me a lot, the Cyanogen animation that is supposed to play has turned into a bunch of small vertical lines in blue, and the Swiftkey keyboard disappears intermittently when I use it for text/email.

I want to explore the rooting/modding thing. My question is this

I want to start over again, since when I first rooted the phone (before Cyanogen/Franco) it seemed fine. Do I have to use the Wugfresh Toolkit to first Factory Reset the phone, or can I just ask it to re-root? Or, if I uninstall Cyanogen and Franco, should that technically put me back at a freshly rooted phone? Did my error in installing Cyanogen and Franco change things? Would it be safer to just start all over?

Hope this is clear. I wil be back after 7 p.m. EST. Thanks.

Last edited:

mset

Mar 12, 2013
Visit site
Use wugs and reflash the factory image. Try the soft brick/bootloop option.