Question about how to proceed in order to try Cyanogenmod on the Nexus 4

Crisdean

Apr 13, 2013
Visit site
Hi community,

first of all I'm quite It literate in some areas. But when it comes to rooting I'm still a noob. I'd really like to try Cyangenmod on my Nexus 4. This is the environment I'm working in.

Mac OS X10.9.2
Android Device Manager and a USB connection into my phone (I need to back my whole phone up, what program can write onto the Mac via USB cable?)
Nexus 4 running KitKat

I've got auto backup activated with Viber and WhatsApp folders. Google contacts etc. are synced so that should be ok.

I want my whole phone with all settings etc. to be backed up. I couldn't find enough valid information to know if a USB cable into the laptop is the same as one of those OTG adapters for SD cards.

Your help would be appreciated. If I could backup all my stuff and then install Cyangenmod via website that'd be ideal. Could I in case of not liking restore to factory Android and then simply install my backup again?

Your help on this specific matter for my circumstances is hugely appreciated. Many thanks in advance.

Last edited:

acejavelin

Jun 13, 2012
Visit site
Re: Question about how to proceed in order to try Cyangenmod on the Nexus 4

Hi community,

first of all I'm quite It literate in some areas. But when it comes to rooting I'm still a noob. I'd really like to try Cyangenmod on my Nexus 4. This is the environment I'm working in.

Mac OS X10.9.2
Android Device Manager and a USB connection into my phone (I need to back my whole phone up, what program can write onto the Mac via USB cable?)
Nexus 4 running KitKat

I've got auto backup activated with Viber and WhatsApp folders. Google contacts etc. are synced so that should be ok.

I want my whole phone with all settings etc. to be backed up. I couldn't find enough valid information to know if a USB cable into the laptop is the same as one of those OTG adapters for SD cards.