Debating the Move to Android and the 6P - Getting grief on iMessage

mark1210

Feb 24, 2016
Visit site
Hello,

First time poster but been a several week lurker. First, let me state that I've had an iPhone since the very first iteration - but after all these years I think it's time for a change. I was at a local phone store and was about to pull the trigger on an iPhone 6S plus but decided to play around with various android devices and was impressed overall. I'm far from an expert, but it seems various brands have their own "Crapware" - can this be removed off any android phone? The store phones were in some kind of lockdown mode where apps couldn't be moved or deleted.

I'm pretty heavily leaning to the Nexus 6P but am concerned with 3 main things:

1) What is the release cycle? I'd hate to plop down 500 bucks and a Nexus 7 (or whatever is next) come out a few months later.
2) I've talked to some friends about jumping the iOS ship and they think I am nuts - I didn't think about it, but apparently I'd lose iMessage and be stuck using SMS and MMS. Apparently MMS transfers can't be over more than 1MB and are highly compressed so that has me concerned as well. No one I've spoken to seems all that eager to install whatsapp for example just to communicate with me. I'm already being called the "green guy" and was told I'd lose out on group texts. Any truth to this? How did you guys "cope" with the loss of iMessage =)
3) Does the Nexus 6P support an exchange e-mail account? I don't have a gmail and I could create one, but my e-mail is all done via hosted exchange - I'm assuming active sync and push is supported?

Thanks

Golfdriver97

Trusted Member Team Leader
Dec 4, 2012
Visit site
Welcome to the forums, and hopefully, Android!!

1. The Nexus devices are the ones that are the most free of bloatware.
2. As for the release cycle, they normally get released in the fall, so you would have about 7-9 months of use.