ARCHIVED: [ROM] MobiusROM R1.7 "Spring Yard" - RELEASED 5.June.2011

BiafraRepublic

Jan 29, 2011
Visit site
NOTE: My phone was replaced due to faulty memory by Virgin Mobile back in early July. My replacement OV was a 2.2.2 device, so development on this rom (which is based on 2.2.1) was put on hold while I found a stock device. I might be able to get this working for 2.2.2, but this is not much of a priority as the following month from the replacement (August 2011), I've moved on to another carrier (SIMple Mobile) and a new phone (G2x).

I created this rom largely because I wanted to be able to hack into my Optimus V without being required to connect it to my computer. To that end, it has some build.prop tweaks, and a couple command-line editors for usage, as well as the wget command-line download utility.

WARNING: This ROM is very much BETA quality as this is my first attempt at ROM cooking, so take care to report any bugs. I take NO RESPONSIBILITY for any damage to your phone. It is strongly reccomended you make a backup (as this rom WIPES EVERYTHING) and check the md5sums of your downloaded copy against the md5 files prior to flashing. ALSO WIPE YOUR CACHE AND DALVIK CACHE AFTER FLASHING!

LATEST VERSION: R1.7 "Spring Yard"

CHANGES FROM STOCK
  • Deodex'd
  • Zipalign'd
  • Twidroyd+Poynt+WHERE+SCVNGR+AirG+VMLive+Downloads+MyAccount > /dev/null (Activate was kept as it has some uses in the area of re-provisioning)
  • Taking a cue from Harmonia, most of the Google Apps are gone (exceptions: Google Search and Voice Search)
  • Root'd+Busybox'd
  • Nano and Vim added for command-line use (grab ConnectBot from market or just adb shell your way onto your phone to use) as well as sysrw and sysro (scripts to remount /system read-write and read-only without needing to memorize mount commands)
  • Hardware Rendering ON
  • Stagefright ON
  • Kernel replaced with picasticks-07a (temporary until BLUEsphere is stable enough)