Building your own ROM

blarf

Jul 8, 2011
github.com
Okay. This thread has formally been succeeded by two things:

1.) The wiki entry located here.
2.) The porting IHO to a different Optimus phone thread on XDA.

Like the official thread dev threads the move to the wiki is designed to encourage people to develop a single reference where usable build instructions can be found instead of spreading it out through a lengthy forum thread. As usual I'd like to request that any significant changes to the wiki be coordinated with Centinel.

Last edited:

JerryScript

Daydream Believer
Mar 8, 2011
Visit site
Edit: I cleaned up this post to make it easier to understand. It now includes all of Blarf's recomendations for a simpler cleaner build process, thanks Blarf!

@Blarf: I'm a noob at repo, git, and compiling Android, so I really appreciate your efforts to help people learn how to build from source.

Here's what you need to do to use Wubi on a Windows 7 computer to build the InferiorHumanOrgans repository and create your own ROM.

1) Download and install the Wubi installer for Ubuntu, this will partition your hdd (virtual partition), and install Ubuntu10.xx in the new partition. It does it all automatically, so you don't have to follow any arcane instructions. Just be sure you choose 64bit, I don't know if you can compile Android on 32bit installs.

2) Boot into Ubuntu and open the package manager, and update everything

3) Install the Java6 JDK (6 is required for gingerbread builds)

4) Install the Android SDK, I highly recommend installing it to ~/android for ease of use, eclipse is optional

5) Using terminal, install and update all required packages, you can use the package manager, I use sudo apt-get install <package_name_here>, you need these packages:
Code:
sudo apt-get install git-core gnupg flex bison gperf libsdl1.2-dev libesd0-dev libwxgtk2.6-dev squashfs-tools build-essential zip curl libncurses5-dev zlib1g-dev sun-java6-jdk pngcrush schedtool