[HOW-TO] Simplified Root + Recovery + Custom ROM

Whyzor

Jul 19, 2011
Visit site
Hey Whyzor - I am a noob, but I can read. I am in emulator, but for the command > /system/bin/flash_image, I get "invalid length". What am I doing wrong so I can move on to the next step? Thanks for any help!

Use the flash image GUI app in step 5, there's no need to type anything in terminal emulator.

nthehle

Dec 2, 2011
Visit site
As I said, I am a noob. But for some reason, it booted up in the correct recovery mode the next time around. It wasn't giving me the same recovery menu that you were talking about, but now, everything is now correct! This new OS is Sweet! Whyzor - again, THANK YOU

stevek28

Mar 13, 2011
Visit site
This is a simplified guide for those new to rooting & flashing a custom ROM on the Optimus V. No need to type complex commands that are hard to follow and prone to mistakes. Basically there are 3 main steps: Root, Install custom recovery, & flash custom ROM.

Windows Drivers for the Optimus V (Optional, but suggested):
http://www.lg-phones.org/wp-content/uploads/LG-Optimus-V.zip

Rooting

Rooting is the process of gaining administrative rights to the phone so one can do customizations that aren't normally allowed. Root by itself doesn't do anything interesting, unless there's an app that needs it. The fancy stuff comes from custom ROMs. Just remember Virgin Mobile Activation only works on Froyo ROMs, so do it before going to Gingerbread. The easiest way to root nowadays is to use GingerBreak. It can be found here:

Can I use flashimage gui to flash a new rom instead of using clockworkmod ( I have iho recovery installed anyway)
If so, do I need to also flash the gapps to get the android market?

I am a learning newbie

[26.04.2011][v1.2] GingerBreak APK (root for GingerBread) - xda-developers

Instruction Steps:

1. Turn on USB Debugging (Settings - Applications - Development)