I want to start building my own rom where do i start?

cammykool

Resident *****
Sep 5, 2011
Visit site
i want to stop being a barnicle to the community and give back by delveloping my own ROM but im a noob at developing where do i start? just with the basics?

and how?

Last edited:

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
First thing...

You need to start with a stock or fairly stock deodexed build of your current OS on the device. I'm sure LesileAnn or one of the other members here can help in this department.

Second, research as much as possible about working with ROMs and the tools normally involved in modifying and doing so.

I can recommend the following thread here at AC to give you a basic outline of working with ROMs and some of the terms, tools, etc involved to give you a insight to what is involved.

General ROM FAQ

With that said, hopefully some of the regulars in this section can help provide more help getting ahold of the files and stuff you will need to get started.

Reactions: clodfelterac

pbailey212

Mar 20, 2011
Visit site
First you need a Linux os, you can run a virtual machine (vmware)over windows, or you can use wubi if you don't want to risk partitioning your hard drive. I have used both, using the wubi method runs smother, but the vmware method is nice because on windows and you can switch back and forth between windows and Linux with a click of the mouse. If you read the first few pages of "building your own rom" thread, it will give you a good start

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk

Paul627g

AC Moderator All-Star
Nov 25, 2010
Visit site
As mentioned above.. Linux is a good route to take especially if you start building from official Google source.

But most people usually just start off using Windows and other means, because jumping right into Linux and source code etc.. can be quite the learning curve....

Good suggestion though :)

pbailey212

Mar 20, 2011
Visit site
so can i build in windows?