Sorry if these threads happen a lot, but I couldn't find any. But I am really new to all of this and am taken away by how involved this stuff is. It is soooo cool Anyways, I have the Optimus V, and was wondering about the whole rooting and roming (is that the correct term?) process. Since I am out of school for summer, I have lots of time to mess with these electronic things, so I thought I would like to modify my phone. However, I have quite a few questions.

First, when rooting a phone, what exactly is the process? I'm looking for either a source with all the steps clearly written, or somebody who could help me out with directions. Is Gingerbreak what everybody uses, even if they dont plan on using Gingerbread? I think what I would like to try running first is Harmonia. It sounds simple, yet can go as far as I would like to take it.

Second, I am very confused about Roms and Recoveries. My first question is how do you make a backup? Please excuse my novice questions, I am quite new to this. What I mean is what do you do? Is there some guide that could help me with this? I again could not find one. Where do you save this backup? Your computer? Also, what exactly is a recovery? Maybe someone could point me towards some online manual that explains like roms and recoveries? I hate to be asking all these beginner questions, because I am sure you guys hear these all the time.

Third, I see quite often people will say put this file in a /sdcard or whatever-the-name-might-be file. How would you make one of those? Because I am pretty sure that I don't have a lot of these files on my sd card.

Fourth, I assume that all these downloading, flashing, etc procedures are done while your phone is connected to your computer, correct? Or do you remove the card and just put that in your computer?

Fifth, where can I find information on what terms like flashin or even rom mean? or the hashtag mark (#)? Im assuming hashtags are commands?