[Guide]Flashing recoveries through terminal emulator (very easy)

fenrix

Aug 30, 2011
Visit site
Re: [Guide]Flashing recoveries through terminal emulator (very ea

are you su?
you see #?

i.e.
sh-3.2$ export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
sh-3.2$ flash_image recovery /sdcard/a.img
flashing recovery from /sdcard/a.img
failed with error: -1
sh-3.2$

dlaxtn2

Apr 21, 2011
Visit site
Yes I have been running all commands as root I entered the command cat Dec/mtd/mtd2>/sdcard/a.Ingram as root it ran with no output just went to next prompt# then I entered again flash_image recovery /sdcard/a.img then it ran saying it was writing to different blocks but when I rebooted into recovery it looked the same

Sent from my LG-VM670 using Tapatalk

dlaxtn2

Apr 21, 2011
Visit site
Oops that cameout wrong there is some annoying auto correct feature on this keyboard lol but I'm sure u know what I mentioned lol I'm new to Modding but am very fascinated would. Like to learn. As much as possible

fenrix

Aug 30, 2011
Visit site

ok, then read:
cat with the arrow > is to backup that partition
typing cat /proc/mtd will list the partitions.
if you backed it up then flashed it nothing should change; good test though =)
so now just download the latest xionia recovery or the one you plan to use and place it in the root of the sdcard and rename it to something like new.img & flash it.
flash_image recovery /sdcard/new.img

Reactions: dlaxtn2

colonelcack

Oct 1, 2011
Visit site

So sorry to be oblivious here, but what's wrong with the recovery we already have? What are the benefits of using other ones?

dlaxtn2

Apr 21, 2011
Visit site
Different recoveries have more options I think I'm running the most basic non stock one which has worked great I was just trying to flash the clockwork mod because its recommended for my rom I'm running the latest backside IHO and love it so nice

Eollie

Feb 22, 2011
Visit site