7" Google Android Tablet PC Question

jimmyt#AC

Jun 29, 2010
Visit site
Hi Gang,

I am new to these tablets and see a ton of them on ebay and I was wondering since I am a Moderator to a fairly busy site and need emails and facebook checked often if these were any good. I have a wireless signal just about everywhere I go.

Is there a place I can find out what is good and what is not. I have been building and repairing computers since before the 6502 and this is one area I have been out of.

Thanks,
Jimmy

MrSmith317

Mr Fix-It
Mar 1, 2010
Visit site
If you're talking about the white android tablets from China or the ipad knock-off ones, then neither of them are true Android tablets. Yes they both run android (1.6) but neither have access to the market or any newer android O/S. If you're ok with 1.6 and manually downloading apps then you're probably ok to get one since they're dirt cheap. I say wait for the more "official" tablets to come out and these knock-offs to mature and then buy one. Personally I'm still waiting for one with IR so I can have a wicked universal remote/coffee table tablet.

jimmyt#AC

Jun 29, 2010
Visit site
Not the quickest but use an apad with rockchip 2808A and they are super. nothing in market is as good for price and i love mine. and yes new ones will connect to market. i got one of each and they are getting really good. check slatedroid.com for firmware upgrades etc.

sometimes people with limited funds, it may be wise to waitfor a little more data. but i started in computers before 6502 cpu and others waited years because something new was always on the horizon. myself i jump in first and learn so i grow. i am not rich but the price of these unts is a night out with my wife... she is on a diet now ;-D

Meggan

Sep 2, 2010
Visit site
Samsung Galaxy Tab looks great, is very light and measures 7'' diagonally. It should be out soon, but it's expected to be somewhat pricey.