What this possibly stupid littel game has meant to me...

BasPilot

TheSickAndTwisted
Jul 23, 2010
Visit site
I see a lot of hate for this game. It doesn’t take five minutes on this site alone for hate to flood into the comments section of any article. But, really, a little perspective here might change a mind or two.

Very quick background on me, because it’s important to the story, not because I like to share. First, I’m a Marine Vet, due to my time in service I have unfortunately seen my share of disabilities. I have PTSD, Severe Depression, and Severe Social Phobia (that means not wanting to be around people to a crippling point). After almost getting dead for the third time in two years, there were almost three years that I left my house but maybe once every several weeks, like 5 or 6. During that time I would just want to go, but couldn’t. I don’t know how to explain it well, but just say I was stuck there. Unfortunately, no matter who you are, just staying in the house you obviously gain a lot of weight. And I did, up through.. well, a lot. I don’t tell you this for thanks for my service, that’s not the point, and frankly that’d be a little crass don’t ya think?

A month ago (not even… or maybe?) this stupid game comes into my life. I was actually at an airport returning from my brother’s wedding. I actually saw this girl catching a Pokemon in the airport and I was stunned. Thinking these things were ultra rare (I know better now) and that they were hard to find, I downloaded the game quickly because I thought my kids would love to see that I caught one!