Pope Francis has taken aim at capitalism as "a new tyranny" and is urging world leaders to step up their efforts against poverty and inequality, saying "thou shall not kill" the economy. Francis calls on rich people to share their wealth... http://rt.com/news/pope-francis-capitalism-tyranny-324/

Pope attacks 'tyranny' of markets in manifesto for papacy | Reuters

Pope Francis calls unfettered capitalism 'tyranny' and urges rich to share wealth | World news | theguardian.com
    11-27-2013 09:40 AM
    Hmmm not sure what i think about this...

He not only calls on those with money to be selfless(as he should, he is the Pope), he calls on governments to mandate it. I am by no means an expert on Pope politics. Is it normal for him to call on governments for force his teachings? It seems like there should be a line there... maybe not.
    11-27-2013 01:11 PM
    I'm not religious, but being a Dave Ramsey listener and hearing how he teaches about money with biblical intent, this doesn't fit what I have heard.

It's my understanding that Catholics are taught to give from the goodness of their heart and generosity. Not mandated to do so. Yes, they can show the virtues of giving to convince you to do so, but the belief seems to be that doing it out of your own generosity helps you grow as a person. What the Pope has said according to the articles seems to fly in the face of my understanding of bible. Who knows, maybe I'm wrong, but Dave's teachings has probably pulled millions out out debt and on the path to prosperity so they can make lots of money and give lots away. Besides, the rich already give the majority of donations by far (in the U.S. anyway), and I've yet to hear anyone define what their fair share of giving is anyway.