Considering Galaxy Note 10.1 - Need Feedback

rick1574

Nov 27, 2012
Visit site
Hello all - I'm strongly considering a Galaxy Note 10.1, largely because of the S-Pen. I don't currently own any tablets and have always liked Apple's iPad, but never thought I would use it (or any tablet) enough to justify such a high price tag.

All that changed when I picked up the S-Pen and started writing notes, freehand, on the screen. I'm a student and an auditor, so all day I'm taking notes. I burn through notebooks and often get frustrated having to look through past notes to find information on a meeting I had months earlier.

I'm all about value, and my only complaint about the GN 10.1 is the price tag. I've recently been researching all tablets and have narrowed my choices down to the Nexus 10 or the GN 10.1. I like the HD Display and am slightly disappointed the screen on the GN is a little lackluster. I've read other threads on here, and it seems like most users don't seem to mind. Although it's not a deal breaker for me, it's definitely something that counts against it.

This would not only be my first tablet, but also my first Android device. I currently have an iPhone 4S. Although I can't say anything negative about my Apple experience, I'm bored with iOS. It seems very basic and doesn't do a whole lot. Besides, the only thing I do on my phone is email, texting, and a few games. I'm really looking for something to help with productivity and not so much a cool gadget to show off.

With that said, I have several questions I was hoping you all could comment on. I have searched the internet and talked to several sales reps at my local Best Buy, but not a lot of people have experience using this tablet the way I'm looking for.

1. I've read you can buy a USB adapter to hook up thumb drives to the device. Can I transfer documents from the USB to the Samsung hard drive? And vica versa? Can I edit documents while leaving them on the USB?