Does an unlocked phone have and signal differences on verizon?

miyanc

Jun 27, 2012
Visit site
So I have been using verizon for many years. I pay a premium and what I get is no drops and no connection issues. I may have had a few issues with certain phones in the past but mostly i got what i paid for. I had the s9 plus without issue. I dont recall ever having to even look at my phone to check it during a call.

So far on my unlocked note 10 plus on verizon I have had a few calls go choppy and today while parked a dropped call followed by no service, until i moved.

I am aware that I loose, or suppose to loose, wifi calling, hd voice and visual voicemail. All or some part of VoLTE, but is there anything else I am missing? Any priority issues, like now that I am not carrier locked other phones can push me out of the way? I really don't want to learn how to carrier lock or flash or whatever it is I would need to do to remake this phone into a verizon clone. I also hope its not a note 10 plus issue. I always hope phones get better not worse.

bhatech

Trusted Member
Nov 21, 2012
Visit site
You get WiFi calling, VoLTE, HD voice, visual voicemail all on the unlocked model on Verizon. I haven't seen any call quality issues or drops on my unlocked Note 10+ on Verizon. Is this your first unlocked phone? If yes then sometimes it's just the perception that somehow carrier variant offers better signal than unlocked model. In fact the unlocked model gets the software updates only after all the carrier models receive theirs and one bull**** reason Samsung gives is that they have to certify that it works fine on all carriers. So it better be the same signal performance and also all the phones have the same universal modems so you aren't missing any bands as well.

TLDR - you shouldn't be seeing any difference between unlocked and Verizon variant.

miyanc

Jun 27, 2012
Visit site