rooting a phone / custom ROM and warranty issues

Karl Cassar

Jul 24, 2014
Visit site
Hi,

I'm fairly new to this, so would appreciate any help / guides.

I've managed to successfully root my unlocked Samsung Galaxy Note 2 N7100. I was reading articles that I can safely un-root if I have to take the phone back for warranty issues.

I have some questions regarding this:

• Is it still possible to revert and "re-gain" warranty if I install a custom ROM like Cyanogen?
  • Would I be able to go back to how I am today with the stock Samsung firmware? It's currently just updated to 4.4.2.
  • Do I need to "backup" somehow my existing firmware / ROM / recovery mod, so that I can revert later?

I would like to install Cyanogen. However, I would like to know before hand if there are any backups that I should do, so as to avoid any surprises later. Any help would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance :)

warn joe

Banned
Jul 10, 2014
Visit site
Hi,

I'm fairly new to this, so would appreciate any help / guides.

I've managed to successfully root my unlocked Samsung Galaxy Note 2 N7100. I was reading articles that I can safely un-root if I have to take the phone back for warranty issues.

I have some questions regarding this:

• Is it still possible to revert and "re-gain" warranty if I install a custom ROM like Cyanogen?
  • Would I be able to go back to how I am today with the stock Samsung firmware? It's currently just updated to 4.4.2.
  • Do I need to "backup" somehow my existing firmware / ROM / recovery mod, so that I can revert later?

I would like to install Cyanogen. However, I would like to know before hand if there are any backups that I should do, so as to avoid any surprises later. Any help would be greatly appreciated and thanks in advance :)