Casually Using the Note 2

llweaver

Jun 19, 2011
Visit site
Hey everyone! Long time reader but first time posting. So, I'm due for an upgrade in December and am torn between the Galaxy Note 2, Nexus 4, Galaxy S3 and iPhone 5. I'm an Apple loyalist but am pretty bored with iOS. I really wouldn't mind the Nexus 4 but Google needs to get its act together with having enough in stock to actually buy. I've been researching the Note 2 for a couple of months now and am about 75% sure I'm going to go that route. But I have a couple of concerns:

1.) I'm so use to the pocketable iPhone, really how pocketable is the Note 2?
2.) I'm also use to being able to casually whip out my iPhone (or even my old HTC Inspire) and use it in public, whether it's just to take pictures or texting or whatnot. The Note 2, from my outside perspective, doesn't seem very practical at all. Am I going to look like an idiot with an iPad when whipping it out to take pictures or record videos?

I would really love a real world, practical sense of you guys/gals daily use of the Note 2. Thanks in advance! :)

alikoyyy

Nov 3, 2012
Visit site
Hi! I've had my Note 2 for a month and the size hasn't hampered usability for me. I have no problems whipping out my phone in public to text or even call. The phone is nice to hold, actually feels really good in the hand and the one handed use settings make texting or dialing with one hand easier.

The phone isn't so big as to be awkward for taking photos/videos and I find the extra screen estate helpful for framing shots. Also, afterwards, the large screen + S pen combo makes doing retouches with Aviary a breeze. :)

Can't speak for the pocketability, there have been long discussions on this here and no clear conclusions. :p Best thing you could do is go check one out and see how it fits in your pockets.