Storage settings? Miscellaneous files?what 6 gb?

executiveg

Mar 28, 2012
Visit site
I went into my Storage settings.
I noticed the miscellaneous files is taking up 6 gb.
l only had the phone for a week.
what is this and How Can I get My gb back?

Sent from my Verizon Note 2.SCH-I605 using Android Central Forums .

Attachments

• uploadfromtaptalk1354946962860.jpg
    uploadfromtaptalk1354946962860.jpg
    11.9 KB · Views: 360

makaroni

Jun 29, 2011
Visit site
That's stuff that came loaded in the phone. Most of it part of the OS and probably files that the phone needs. You can tap on it and it will show you what files they are. Some you can delete if you want to but I wouldn't touch it unless I was a phone expert and knew that the files I was deleting wasn't going to interfere with how my phone would perform. You can always tap on it just to look at what's occupying the space though

My GS3 sleeps in the bed and I make my girlfriend sleep on the couch

Analyss14

Dec 2, 2012
Visit site
That doesn't sound right. I'm almost 100% sure that memory used for the OS isn't even displayed on the storage screen. It only shows you the breakdown from your available storage so makaroni is wrong on that one.

Chances are that you have something that is caching a large file on your phone. "cloudagent" is considered a miscellaneous file so it could be anything from files/pics linked throu your dropbox which are unfortunately still cached on your phone or if you use Google Play Music, the large size might be from music that's pinned to your device. My advice would be to use a file explorer and look through your cloudagent files. I have found old files and whole folders that were erased from my drop box yet were still cached in cloudagent. Just delete the ones you no longer need stored on your phone but make sure you only delete folders that are no longer in you dropbox or else they'll just reappear once cloudagent syncs with dropbox again.