Storage settings? Miscellaneous files?what 6 gb?

Ava Whetton

Jan 20, 2015
Visit site
no offense taken at all. I try to help people with whatever I know. I'm no expert at all, so I can always learn something. This is what we're all here for to communicate, have fun and learn from one another. No apology necessary, it's cooL

You two are awesome. Most people have a ***** fight and as amusing as that often is,it leaves the rest of us confused. Well done and thanks for your honesty and helpful suggestions

Aerialyds

May 22, 2015
Visit site
My miscellaneous folder also has almost 6GB. When i open it it says 2.75GB is from whatsapp, and 2.35GB is from thumbnails!!

Can i delete these? (it has the option to delete) I'm just scared of what will happen.

what are thumbnails and what will happen if i delete them from the Miscellaneous folder??

Thanks

Javier P

Ambassador
Feb 21, 2014
Visit site
The miscellaneous files can include different things depending on your phone. In most Samsung devices the system files are included there, so it's normal that they show a big size. In general it could be better not deleting files from there. It's good to have an idea of what's taking your space but better using other options to delete them (through your apps settings for example).

Some of the files included there will be cache files, for example the thumbnails mentioned before. Those are small copies of pictures that you downloaded when using your apps or browsing (that includes avatars, social media, wallpaper database, etc).

TGR2

Jul 8, 2015
Visit site
Used Disk Usage and found that the Android Download Manager cache was taking over 3G! However System Memory still showing 5.46G so no joy in fixing that yet....

Jun 27, 2015
Visit site