Instructions on using DLNA? It doesn't work.

dodong27

Dec 3, 2012
Visit site
I just got a new Panasonic TV which I linked in to my home WiFi. It has YouTube on it, and it gave an option to sync my phone with the TV YouTube app, which I did. That worked to let me find and start a YouTube video on my phone, which would then play on the TV. I did nothing else (not knowingly, anyway) to connect my phone to TV. I was very surprised later when I started playing music on my phone through the stock music player, and it came up automatically on the TV and through its sound system. I checked and this also worked with the stock video player, and with the stock photo gallery. I have no idea whether this is "dnla" (about which I know nothing) or some other connection method, but I was pleased to be able to show photos and videos on the big screen, and pump music through that sound system. Got lucky, I guess.

Ya my Sony tv also has YouTube app amd I can connect my youtube accnt from my Note2 to my tv, just like you. And I can also stream pics and music using the stock apps.
But streaming videis directly from Note2 to my tv, some reason it won't work.
When you stream your videos to your tv, do you stream it directly to your tv or do you go through a player, PS3 or Xbox???

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using Android Central Forums

brentj

Oct 9, 2012
Visit site
Yes, direct to TV.

Edit to add: Got home and checked, it shows on my TV as a dnla connection. Not all of the .mp4 videos on my phone will play on my TV (I think I've created or converted them using a variety of software and settings over some years), but in that case the TV still gets the signal from my phone, shows the name of the video file, and gives a message "Cannot Read File."

Last edited:

jdub1981

Nov 26, 2012
Visit site
I assume its because not all video file typed are created equal. Such as different bitrates and different audio codecs from within the video file.