Why I'm going back to stock ROM.

itsmemalloy

Sep 20, 2012
Visit site
I love the Galaxy Note 2. It's a powerhouse, it feels slim despite it's giant dimensions and it does everything I need it to do without the slightest hiccup. I'm new to Android but not new to hacking and in my case for many, many years, Jailbreaking (iOS). So when I got my Galaxy S3, I rooted it and installed several custom ROMs and loved it. It actually sped up the phone and increased the functionality of the device.

Now with the Note 2 I decided to root it and give a few custom ROMs a try. Rooting was easy and installation of new ROMs was a breeze but I've noticed that I've begun to miss TouchWiz and some of the functionality that I've lost in the process, namely the S-pen features. I've been enjoying AOKP's JB 4.2.1 for a week or so now and I love the look of stock JB. But it's taking me more time to get to where I need to go within the OS than it did with touchwiz. Also, I never used the S-pen that much but it was very convenient when I needed to jot down a quick note or impress some onlooker. And it seems crazy to me that a device such as the Note 2 that was designed around the use of the S-pen, that other ROMs wouldn't include it in their system. You loose, what, a third, maybe half of the functionality of the device by losing the built in features of touchwiz?

This is why I'll be going back to TouchWiz. I love changing as much as I can about the phone to really tailor it to my needs and aesthetic wants, but sometimes it's just nice to not mess with it and use it how the manufacturer or developer intended it to be used.

Sent from my GT-N7105 using Tapatalk 2

SumthinNew

Nov 13, 2012
Visit site
Appreciate your post about rooting the Note II and providing details around losing Touchwiz...S-pen functionality.
This is my first android device and haven't seen the need to root as it is performing to my liking as is.
If it ain't broke, don't fix it!!!

Mike-Mike

Nov 13, 2012
Visit site