HELP ASAP! Suddenly NO SD CARD Found! Tried Everything...

Kris Garvey

Dec 16, 2012
Visit site
I was putting new video files onto my phone (ext. SD card) with this 32gb micro card I've been using for about 6 months with NO ISSUES, and I have always put videos on my phone this way. I open the phone by 'browsing files', and copy/paste video files either to the internal memory or the ext. card, pasting them into a 'My Files' folder, and then the 'Movies' folder. I have always done it this way, and until the last update, I always used the regular 'Video Player' app, but recently noticed it did not want to play or show a lot of my video files it had shown before it had been updated. So I downloaded the app 'HD Video Player' which was working last night before I added new videos. After adding the files, and leaving for a day trip, I noticed the phone kept saying in the top Notification Bar, "Preparing SD Card" and then "Blank SD Card", showing a tiny SD card with a '!' in it on the Notification bar. When I check the Notification window, it says "SD Card is blank or has unsupported files". I went into the Settings>Storage and under the SD Card stats, it has one option: "Mount SD Card". Trying that only repeats the same notices in the top bar, with the occasional pop-up window asking if I want to Format my Card. I have not done so, hoping that erasing everything is a last resort.
When plugging my phone into my laptop again, the external card is not detected at ALL. :(

Can anyone PLEASE tell me what to do to get my phone working again with the card detected? I've checked all video files that I had added to the phone, and none of them are a different format than I have used before, nor are they corrupt at all. I've tried powering down the phone, taking out the card and making sure there isn't dust or anything else preventing it from reading properly, then re-inserting and powering up. :'(