Keyboards... Samsung or GBoard or other?

lindajm22

Mar 15, 2018
Visit site
I didn't even know the Samsung keyboard had that handwriting feature. I would use that. But I can't seem to pull away from my Blackberry keyboard long enough! I need Samsung to offer swipe word delete (up to four words at a time) and long press letters for capitals. I just can't seem to give those two things up.

mustang7757

Super Moderator
Feb 6, 2017
Visit site
I didn't even know the Samsung keyboard had that handwriting feature. I would use that. But I can't seem to pull away from my Blackberry keyboard long enough! I need Samsung to offer swipe word delete (up to four words at a time) and long press letters for capitals. I just can't seem to give those two things up.
Yeah, it's pretty cool!

Talderon

Jun 5, 2011
Visit site
Oh man, I am LOVING this thread.

Well, I tell people that I chat with on my phone that I have a PhD in Typonese, so I can pretty much get away with anything. :D

donm527

Aug 21, 2014
Visit site
I felt that I was inevitably going to go with Swipe but still setting up my phone little by little since I got it. but reading this thread I took a little time to go through the settings and noticed the handwriting feature and tried is and surprised how accurate it was.

customized the toolbar to put in the shortcuts I wanted... I like Swiftkey because I always modify the keyboard to put the dictaction on the lower left but with the Samsung keyboard I put it to the left of the toolbar so it's still accessible one handed so that's not bad.

Besides the handwritinig feature I see the keyboard has the cursor control like on my iPad where you hold down the space bar and can move the cursor to where ever you want to on the text you are writing. Nice.