Samsung Galaxy Note 3 - Does anyone else think the camera sucks?

amariem

Oct 8, 2013
Visit site
I don't know if I'm using the camera wrong or if my phone is a lemon or what. But I am not happy with the camera quality of the Note 3. It just seems like every picture I take is really grainy and almost as if it has a filter applied to it to make it look like brushstrokes. It doesn't seem like 13mp at all, it acts more like it's a low quality front facing camera.

For instance, these photos of my cat have this filtered blurry effect. I took these with the auto mode.
cat1.jpg
cat3.jpg

When I turned on the flash the photo turned out a little better, although I'd rather have a crisp photo like this without the flash on.
cat2.jpg

So what's the deal, is this camera just bad with indoor lighting? I'm holding it extremely steading when taking photos, so the quality can't be due to that.

GtoJon

Oct 9, 2011
Visit site
Re: Does anyone else think the camera sucks?

As a Photographer, I can tell you this 13mp camera does suck! As a consumer with a cell phone for a camera, this camera rocks :) It will not look like a DSLR ... not ever. When I compare this to my Note 2, it is better! When I compare it to a 10 year old 6mp DSLR, the Note 3 camera sucks! I can't lie, I did buy this phone for the camera .... I do wish it was a lot better, but for the size of sensor, lens & convenience .... I'm not going to complain at this time!

Cheers, Jon

amariem

Oct 8, 2013
Visit site

I just don't get it because I had the iphone 4s before, which has a much lower megapixel camera than the Note 3 camera. Yet the iphone 4s seemed to take better pictures indoors.

icnmayhem

Nov 8, 2012
Visit site