Just wondering about killing certain apps with the extended press of the home button. Here are my thoughts:

Using the Mail app, where I have 4 mail accounts (3 using Active Sync and Gmail), I find that if I kill the app after each use, it takes a second or two to open each time I access it. If I leave the app open and just return to the home screen, I can see by using the active apps application that it takes no CPU ticks, only RAM, but when I navigate to the mail app, if it's already open, there's no delay. That makes me wonder what's harder on battery, opening and loading it each time, or leaving it running in RAM. Fact is that that mail app is always running in any case, since open or closed, it will still get mail. So, I wonder if there's any impact at all on battery with the application loaded and open, vs loaded and closed?

I'm new to Android, a fast learner and quite apt, but was a BB user for 14 years and on a BB, leaving an app open (with the exception of native apps that could not be closed) would eat battery bad.

There are a few apps I would like to leave open, if there's no impact on battery. So, if an app resides in RAM, but takes no CPU clicks...is there any impact on battery? I have read that Android actually works more efficiently with apps residing in RAM.

Thoughts?
    11-29-2013 08:42 PM
    I kill all my apps. I keep the widget on my home screen to see how many apps are open and I kill them all. My email doesn't always work even when I kill apps because all my emails are set on manual,, no pushing,, no searching no alerts,, nothing. If I want to see if I have mail I do what I do with real mail,, I go the mail box.. It only refreshes if and when I open the app. If the app is already open I have to hit refresh. I would lose me mind if my emails were coming through every other min lol, plus it's a waste of battery.

THE BEAST,,NOTE 3. SIZE IS EVERYTHING!!!
    11-29-2013 09:31 PM