Note 4 - Samsung $200 trade in promotion

bspill

Dec 1, 2012
Visit site
Re: samsung $200 trade in promotion

I wonder how Verizon Edge Account fits into this. If you preorder from BB and want to go on the Edge program, does the rebate still apply?

Posted via Android Central App

brentj

Oct 9, 2012
Visit site

This trade in deal has convinced me to pick up the N4. This may be a dumb question, but I've never done a trade in before. Do you transfer your data to the new phone in store and then do a factory reset before you hand over your old phone? I'll be trading in my N2 for the N4 and the whole handing over my old phone with data on it scares me. Thanks for any guidance.

If you have an Android phone, you might want to consider installing an app like My Backup Pro (costs a few bucks). It will back up all your data (contacts, text messages, phone logs, photos, etc.) and your apps, making a reinstall much easier. With Jelly Bean, it used to allow backups to an external SD card (if your phone takes one of those), but that went away with Kit Kat (unless you root your phone, I guess). So if you have Kit Kat or no SD card, you would have to have enough space on your phone to store the backup files, then copy those to your computer, then when you get your new phone copy those backup files from your computer to your new phone, install My Backup Pro, and then restore from the backup.

At a minimum, you should probably copy any photos you want to save to your computer.

BB or a carrier store can transfer your contacts from your old phone to your new one, but not much (if anything) more than that. I'm sure they wipe the phones that they take as trade-ins, but if you don't have faith in that, do backups as I and others suggest and then wipe/restore the phone yourself before trading it in.

Last edited:

jayochs

Apr 30, 2011
Visit site