Samsung Galaxy Note 4 New to android and note

Ravinder Bindra

Oct 28, 2014
Visit site
Hey guys

I'm Ravinder and I'm from the UK. I'm new to the whole android thing. My previous phones have been an iPhone 4 and iPhone 5. What made me come to android? I fancied a change as I was getting a little bored with the iPhone and the awful battery life. My 5 was a shambles in this department. Good phone but I just found myself doing the same thing over and over again.

I initially ordered an iPhone 6 plus but it took weeks for it arrive so in the end I cancelled the order. I saw details about the note 4 online and the more I read about it and saw the pics the more it appealed to me, so here I am - a proud owner of a white note 4. :)

To be honest, I don't really know what to do with it yet. So far I've mainly spent time online and downloading a few apps but would love to make it mine - what can you recommend to a newbie to okay about with on this device? I would like to customise the background. Is it possible to have a different background for each screen/page when swiped? Can someone also explain to me what the shoe sign is on the home screen next to the clock? I have so many questions but forgot them all! I will ask as soon as I remember. Thanks.

B. Diddy

Senior Ambassador
Mar 9, 2012
Visit site
Re: New to android and note

Welcome to Android Central! For a general introduction to Android, check out this guide: http://forums.androidcentral.com/general-help-how/399060-guide-getting-started-android-2014-a.html. It's not geared towards Samsung's TouchWiz, but a lot of it should still make sense.

You can't make the background change with each homescreen, but there are lots of neat wallpapers you can install from Google Play Store, including live wallpapers.

The shoe icon is the pedometer function of the S Health app.

Enjoy your phone!

JAG21979

Dec 14, 2013
Visit site