why wont my Imac recognize my Note 4

tmullins25

Nov 18, 2014
Visit site
I tried Kies and AFT and neither of them will recognize my Note 4. Even just plugging it in to the computer nothing happens. I tried looking in the system setting on the note 4 but cant find anything to help. Anyone have any ideas?

rahul.sharma

Mar 27, 2013
Visit site
Same here with Windows 8.1. I am actually new to android so not sure if there is some settings that allow device to be detected. I want to transfer some music but not sure how to do that.
Any one?

Posted via Samsung Galaxy Note® 4

mhunter6378

May 15, 2013
Visit site
For the Mac, I would suggest AFT over Kies, but that's just my preference. AFT works like a Finder window and offers drag and drop flexibility, much easier and faster than Kies. If you choose to use AFT it will not work with Kies installed on your Mac. To uninstall Kies, open the dmg file, and use the uninstaller to properly remove it. If after removing Kies, AFT still does not recognize your phone, reboot your Mac while the phone is still connected to your Mac. It should work then.

For Windows, you probably will need to have the Samsung drivers installed. You can either get them by installing Samsung Kies for your operating system or by separate download on the Samsung support website.

tmullins25

Nov 18, 2014
Visit site
I dont have kies installed and my phone just charges when it is connected to my mac. Is there a USB connecting options on the note 4 as there was on the 2 and 3?Also rebooted with phone connected. Still nothing.

mhunter6378

May 15, 2013
Visit site
I dont have kies installed and my phone just charges when it is connected to my mac. Is there a USB connecting options on the note 4 as there was on the 2 and 3?Also rebooted with phone connected. Still nothing.