Just jumped ship from iOS. So far I love my note 4. I'm still learning the ins and outs of android. I saw an app called Google hangouts which seemed like another texting app. Is there any reason to use that over the native txt app?
    Thanks.
    12-26-2014 10:46 PM
    As far as texting, I use either Messaging (not Messages) or Textra, depending on which ROM I'm currently running. (Not for the ROM - I have one installed as the default in one ROM and the other installed as the default on the other ROM. They're both okay as text apps. [I say just okay, because texting itself is a 1960s technology and leaves a lot to be desired.])
    bdgriff likes this.
    12-26-2014 11:24 PM
    OK thanks. It's amazing how much more I can do on this compared to my iPhone
    12-27-2014 12:29 AM
    OK thanks. It's amazing how much more I can do on this compared to my iPhone
    Welcome to our wild word and congrats escaping from Crapple state prison. Lol
    Need any thing let me know!

John 3:16
    soldier45 and adock22096 like this.
    12-27-2014 03:46 AM
    Welcome to the Note 4. It's a neat device.

from the IV
    12-27-2014 09:01 AM
    Welcome to the Light Side of the Force!

I used to use Hangouts for texting because I use it for chatting also, but I've been giving Verizon Messages a try because of the pop-up feature on the lock screen. I think the best advice would be to try everything for a bit until you find something that feels right.

The S Pen is mightier than the S Sword.
    adock22096 likes this.
    12-27-2014 09:19 AM
    Welcome to team Android. There is so much you're going to be able to do with your phone. You will be discovering things for a while.

Hangouts is a great app. I don't recommend you use it for your sms though. I would turn that feature off. The stock messaging app does a great job with handling that, especially when it comes to group sms.